BRITISH COLUMBIA.

matters relating to agriculture, public fairs, animals, dog taxes, impounding, cemeteries, coal and wood supply, libraries, advertising, markets, boards of trade, trades and occupations, licensing travellers for commercial houses, street numbering and similar matters.

BRITISH COLUMBIA.

By S. D. SCOTT, Vancouver, B.C.



BRITISH Columbia became part of the Dominion of Canada on July 20, 1871. The province had been organized in 1866 by the union of the colony of Vancouver Island, whose government had been established in 1849, with that of British Columbia (the mainland) which dated from 1858. About the time that British Columbia entered the Confederation, local responsible government began. Previously, the colony had been administered by a governor and a mixed elective and appointed council. The administration is vested in a lieutenant-

governor and a cabinet of eight members as follows: Attorney-General and Commissioner of Fisheries; Minister of Finance; Provincial Secretary and Minister of Education; Minister of Lands; Minister of Mines; Minister of Public Works; Minister of Agriculture; President of the Council. With the exception of the Premier, who holds one of these offices and receives \$3,000 a year in addition to the salary of his portfolio, and the President of the Council, who is unpaid, the salary of each of these ministers is \$6,000. The first administration after Confederation contained only five ministers. The Department of Mines was separated from other portfolios, with a minister of its own, in 1900. The Department of Public Works was separated from that of Lands in 1908. In 1916, Agriculture, previously under the jurisdiction of the Minister of Finance, became a department with a minister of its own.

Legislative.—British Columbia has a single chamber legislature of 47 members, increased by Act of 1915 from 42. The number of members after Confederation was 25. But as new settlements arose and others grew into cities and towns redistribution took place from time to time. For example, Vancouver city, now represented by six members, first became a constituency in 1894 with two members. In the Legislature elected in 1916, Vancouver had six representatives, Victoria four, all elected at large, while the other 37 ridings returned single members. The term of the Legislature from Confederation until 1916 was four years. The thirteenth Legislature (1912–16) made the term five years, the change to go into effect the succeeding term. The sessional indemnity is \$1,600, and an allowance of \$1,500 is made to the leader of the Opposition.